The Grace E. Harris Leadership Institute

Exemplary Leadership

Creating a learning environment. Building collaborative partnerships. Strengthening commitment to results. Envisioning a brighter future.

About the institute

A man and two women sitting at a table

The Grace E. Harris Leadership Institute promotes the development of current and emerging leaders in academic institutions; other public, private and nonprofit organizations; and communities.

Consistent with the mission of Virginia Commonwealth University, the Institute is committed to identifying and nurturing the next generation of leaders through leadership training and public policy research.


"Uncommon Grace" Art Contest Tribute to Dr. Grace E. Harris! Hosted by The Grace E. Harris Leadership Institute, submit your artwork by December 8th for a chance to be our Resident Artist of the Year. Winners' art will be showcased at various GEHLI 2024 leadership programs and in the institute. Contact gehli@vcu.edu

GEHLI Art Contest 2023

GEHLI Art Contest 2023


VCU Leadership 

The VCU Leadership Development Program is a 10-month program designed to enhance the knowledge, skills and experience of current and emerging leaders who represent the academic and administrative units of the university and the VCU Health System.

Learn more about VCU Leadership

HIGHER Ground 

The HIGHER Ground Women’s Leadership Development Program is a five-month experience for current and emerging women leaders who are committed to investing in themselves and their organizations.

Learn more about HIGHER Ground


The Minority Political Leadership Institute is an intensive, eight-month experience designed to promote leadership development for individuals interested in issues important to minority communities, including community economics, political climate, civic engagement and racial equity.

Learn more about MPLI

Featured image

It is important to have a strong knowledge base of one's subject and a willingness to share that knowledge with others."

Grace E. Harris, Ph.D. (1933-2018) 
Distinguished University Professor